AboutOrganisational Structure

Organisational Structure











Board of Directors

Central Desert Native Title Services Limited (Central Desert) was incorporated on 16 April 2007 and commenced operations on 1 July 2007. The Central Desert Board currently consists of five Directors. The Board’s role is to decide the strategic direction of Central Desert and to ensure that Central Desert acts in accordance with funding conditions.


Appointed 14 December 2012

Terry Grose has a strong commercial background gained through his experience as a merchant banker, senior executive and business consultant in Australia and overseas. After a decade spent in various senior roles within the Wesfarmers Group, Terry moved to Hong Kong where he worked as Chief Financial Officer and Executive Director of an innovative start-up company before establishing his own commercial consulting business. Since returning to Australia in 2008 he has undertaken consulting assignments with a range of companies that have benefited from his broad business experience. In 2013 he won the national Woodside Better Business Award, presented by Creative Partnerships Australia, for his contribution as a director of the Yirra Yaakin Theatre Company. He is also a director of Arafura Resources Ltd and Martu People Limited.

/back to top


Appointed 11 September 2007

Fred Chaney has served as a member and Deputy President of the National Native Title Tribunal, Co-Chair and director on the board of Reconciliation Australia Limited, Chair of Desert Knowledge Australia and Chair of the Consultation Committee on a Human Rights Act for Western Australia. In 2008 he was awarded the Sir Ronald Wilson Leadership Award for “Exceptional leadership in the fields of social justice, human rights, equality and anti racism”. Fred continues to serve as a director of Reconciliation Australia Limited and is a co-founder and Deputy Chair of the Graham (Polly) Farmer Foundation.

In 2011 he was a member of the Expert Panel on the Constitutional Recognition of Indigenous Australians. Most recently, Fred was the worthy recipient of the Senior Australian of the Year for 2014.

/back to top


Appointed 7 October 2008

Fiona Skyring is a historian. While employed by the Kimberley Land Council from
1999 to 2005 as an expert witness, Fiona gave evidence on behalf of the native title applicants in five trials in the Federal Court. Since then Fiona has worked for native 
title service providers on behalf of applicants, for Aboriginal heritage organisations 
and for government. She has contributed to community history projects and academic publications. Fiona is the author of ‘Justice: A History of the Aboriginal Legal Service of Western Australia’, which was published by UWA Publishing in 2011. For this book Fiona won the 2012 Margaret Medcalf Award, for excellence in research and referencing using the State Archives Collection, and in the WA Premier’s Book Awards she won the State Library of Western Australia WA History Prize and the WA Premier’s Prize.

/back to top


Appointed 14 December 2012

Carolyn Tan has been an In-house Legal Counsel at Yamatji Marlpa Aboriginal Corporation since 2003 where she has provided native title advice and appeared in the Federal Court, High Court and before the National Native Title Tribunal and the Mining Warden. Prior to that she was a litigation partner at Dwyer Durack for 15 years and headed up their Native Title Department as well as being engaged in a range of commercial, administrative and other civil and industrial litigation. Carolyn has been a Deputy President of the WA Equal Opportunity Tribunal and has served on numerous legal and social justice committees. She holds a PhD for her research on a topic related to Indigenous heritage and religious freedom laws in Australia, New Zealand, USA and Canada.

/back to top


Appointed 14 December 2012

Andy is a director of national chartered accounting firm RSM Australia practising in the Corporate Finance Division. He has over 30 years experience as a chartered accountant and business adviser initially in the area of audit and subsequently in corporate finance and transaction support. He has had a wide breadth of experience with exposure to businesses in diverse industries from financial services to mining, and of varying size, from small to medium sized family concerns to large multinational corporations. Andy holds a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth and recently stepped down as the West Australian representative of the Business Valuation Special Interest Group of the Institute of Chartered Accountants. Andy was admitted as a partner of RSM Australia Partners in 1994.

/back to top

Guy Singleton w background (1)DR GUY SINGLETON

Appointed 18 July 2016

Guy Singleton has a diverse educational and professional background, which support his interests in realising meaningful Aboriginal opportunity. Guy has a first-class Honours degree in biological science and a PhD in remote Aboriginal community development and Indigenous affairs from Curtin University’s Business School. He has worked with and for a range of Aboriginal corporations on development projects in WA, SA and the NT. Since 2012, Guy has held a range of Social Responsibility positions within the resource industry sector, with his current position being Principal – Environment, Social Responsibility and Government Relations at Northern Star Resources Limited. Guy is  also an Adjunct Research Fellow at the University of Western Australia within the Centre for Regional Development. His published works have been cited by a range of organisations, including the United Nations.

/back to top


Central Desert is staffed by more than 50 experienced and dedicated staff who have a vast knowledge and commitment to the provision of native title services.

Our Management Team consists of:


– Chief Executive Officer and Company Secretary


– Deputy CEO


– Principal Lawyer


– Chief Financial Officer (DSS) and Company Secretary


– Corporate Services Manager

Organisational Chart

Please click here to view the Organisational Chart